JoannaWong

journalist – writer – traveler

Writing for New Media-Conceptual Writing

Leave a comment

My Blank Space

By Joanna Wong

taylorcan

Nice to meet you, how you been?
I could see you’re incredible things
Spicy, crunchy, melt-in mouth
Saw you there and I thought
Oh my God, look at that face
You look like my next poor preyLove’s a meal, wanna eat?

Red meat, processed meat
I can eat you like a garbage bin
Ain’t it yummy, I can fly
And I know you have waited for me
So hey, let’s be friends
I’m dying to taste how this one ends
Grab utensil and my hand
I can make the bad meat good for a weekend

So it’s gonna be forever
Or it’s gonna go down in flames
You can tell me when it’s over
If the high was worth the pain
Got a long list of meat-lovers
They’ll tell you I’m insane
Cause you know I love all the meat
and you’re nutritional

‘Cause we’re young and we’re reckless
We’ll take this way too far
It’ll leave me breathless
Or with a nasty stain
Got a long list of meat-lovers
They’ll tell you I’m insane
But I’ve got a blank space, baby
And I’ll write your name

taylorhotdogHot dogs, ham, sausages
I could smell you’re incredible things
Lovely beef, pretty pork
You’re the King, baby, I’m your Queen
Find out what you taste
Be the first for a mouth
Wait, the worst is yet to come, oh no

Colorectal, pancreatic, prostate
You are proven with evidence
Like tobacco, asbestos
Are classified as group one
“Oh my God, who is WHO?”
I get sick on the studies
But you’ll come back each time you leave
Cause, darling, you’re nightmare dressed like a daydream

So it’s gonna be forever
Or it’s gonna go down in flames
You can tell me when it’s over
If the high was worth the pain
Got a long list of meat-lovers
They’ll tell you I’m insane
‘Cause you know I love all the meat
though you’re carcinogenic

‘Cause we’re young and we’re reckless
We’ll take this way too far
It’ll leave me breathless
Or with a nasty cancer
Got a long list of meat-lovers
They’ll tell you I’m insane
But I’ve got a blank space, baby
And I’ll write your name

Humans only want love if it’s torture
Don’t say I didn’t say, I didn’t warn ya
Humans only want love if it’s torture
Don’t say I didn’t say, I didn’t warn ya

So it’s gonna be forever
Or it’s gonna go down in flames
You can tell me when it’s over
If the high was worth the pain
Got a long list of meat-lovers
They’ll tell you I’m insane
‘Cause you know I love all the meat
though you’re carcinogenic


taylorburger1

‘Cause we’re young and we’re reckless
We’ll take this way too far
It’ll leave me breathless
Or with a nasty cancer
Got a long list of meat-lovers
They’ll tell you I’m insane
But I’ve got a blank space, baby
And I’ll write your name

 

 

Description:

The main two sources are the press release of the World Health Organization (WHO) on the consumption on red meat and processed meat and Taylor Swift’s love song Blank Space. I have put words from the press release, a food poem and my own into the song, changing part of the original lyrics. Also, I have recreated three photos. The photos and text form a shape, which the audience can interpret. And I will leave the singing part for the meat-loving audience.

The idea I want to bring out is the struggle between health and appetite. Meat-lovers always have a blank space for the delicious but carcinogenic meat.

 

Credited to:

Taylor Swift-Blank Space

World Health Organization press release

http://www.iarc.fr/en/media-centre/pr/2015/pdfs/pr240_E.pdf

http://www.who.int/features/qa/cancer-red-meat/en/

Poetry

http://www.poetrysoup.com/poems/best/food

Pictures

http://parade.com/55579/parade/franks-in-pop-culture-take-our-hot-dog-trivia-quiz/

http://www.japantoday.com/category/new-products/view/burger-kings-stacker

http://zammylife.com/goods.php?id=813

Leave a Reply

